x'15' (21): Course notes: "Two Strange APIs" (2013)

posted Apr 29, 2014, 6:23 AM by Jeff Ogden   [ updated Jun 13, 2014, 12:09 PM ]
MTS line files were mentioned as one of "two strange APIs" in a PowerPoint slide for a lecture for Geoff Kuenning's operating systems class (CS 134) at the Harvey Mudd College Department of Computer Science, Claremont, California.

Slide #25

E-mail exchange

I exchanged some e-mail with Professor Kuenning:

Subject: Michigan Terminal System
Date: April 25, 2014 12:22:49 PM EDT
To: geoff

Hello,

I was a systems programmer and later Associate Director at the University of Michigan's academic Computing Center in the 1970s and 1980s. I also worked with and for the Merit Network, although that association didn't start until late 1974 or early 1975, so I don't think we would have crossed paths while you were working at the MSU Computer Laboratory.

I just stumbled on the following slide presentation that mentions the MTS file system and have some comments/clarifications about the "strange" API.

Slide 25 at http://www.cs.hmc.edu/~geoff/classes/hmc.cs134.201209/slides/class20_disks3_beamer.pdf 

Michigan Terminal System (60's)

> Files divided into variable-length “lines”   
• Even binary files made up of lines
• Each line numbered (fixed-point, 6 fractional decimal digits)   
• Could read by line number or by “next line”
• Could write by line number (inserting in middle if appropriate) or (?) just append at end
> No user access to devices   
• E.g., print by creating file, then handing to OS
• Slightly problematic when terminals introduced. . .

MTS was in use at the UofM from 1967 through 1996 and elsewhere through 1999. It is still available and runs under Hercules/390 and other emulators and who knows it might even still run on real IBM hardware, if anyone cared to try. MSU ran MTS for a time, but that was not until the mid to late 1980s or possibly even the early 1990s.